Low-carb chicken enchiladas

5 Jan

In my attempt to eat at home more often and avoid as much sugar and flour as I possibly can, I decided to try my hand at some chicken enchiladas that used egg crepes instead of tortillas. I had seen a recipe for this in the past and even though it sounded kind of strange to use egg crepes as a replacement I imagine that it wouldn’t taste so bad. One of my favorite mexican dishes is chile rellenos and I know that there are eggs in those bad boys, along with cheese and peppers, so I figured my egg crepe idea couldn’t be too far out there.

Luckily, I was correct!

I used this recipe for the egg crepes and basic enchiladas directions. I did have to alter it a bit since I was out of tomatoes so I used some of my mom’s picante sauce instead. I used leftover chicken from broth I made the other day and so my chicken was shredded, not cubed. I also put all my wrapped enchiladas seam down in a baking dish, covered them with cheese, and baked them for about 15 mins so that everything was bubbling and melted.

Granted, cheese isn’t on the paleo menu, but I’m sick of labeling my diet, so suck it. The cheese was delicious and I WIN because I ate a great mexican meal that was low in carbs and homemade.

Here are some photos:

 

The final product!

The final product!

IMG_0011

My serving.

IMG_0012

Cuts like a tortilla but doesn’t make your butt big like one.

2 Responses to “Low-carb chicken enchiladas”

  1. Mesa de Vida - Chef Kirsten January 5, 2013 at 4:17 PM #

    These look amazing! Thanks for using my recipe for the crepes – love how you tweaked the recipe! Nice! I’ll try to get more low carb recipes for ya. 🙂 I have plenty of personal chef clients on low carb/paleo lifestyles, I’ll try to share more of my recipes I make for theme. 🙂 Have a great day!

    • opimafemina January 5, 2013 at 4:36 PM #

      Thanks, Kirsten! Both my parents liked it and I saved the rest for a later meal. I really should cute the cheese out but I’m working with baby steps for now. I def feel better when I eat low-carb and I didn’t get a heavy feeling after I ate these. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

You Ought to be Ashamed

You were unemployed once too, man.

Too Hottie For That Body

An attempt at keeping my thighs from eating my shorts

The Paleo Periodical

Going Feral since 2011.

PaleoFriggenDelish

Like a Cavewoman did, Just Friggen Delicious

Griffins and Ginger Snaps

To share what I know, what I learn, what's helpful and what's not, and everything in between

Slightly Ignorant

Ilana Masad Writes

