Gluten-free banana pancakes that are delicious

1 Jan

My entire family has suffered greatly over the loss of a family love: pancakes. When my dad decided to change his diet to cure his heart disease we had to let pancakes go. Well, not entirely, I would still make my son and niece pancakes from scratch on occasion but I never felt well after eating them and I knew that I would have to let them go at some point as well. Aside from going out to breakfast, I rarely make pancakes at home. But now that I am buckling down to lose weight and get healthy I have come to the sobering conclusion that pancakes, and waffles, will have the leave my life.

At least the traditional sort of pancakes will. Today I tried a gluten-free recipe for pancakes that is seriously fucking delicious. I found the recipe on some random blog that I closed before I could copy the link to but the writer had given the recipe credit to Elena’s Pantry, so there you go.

This isn’t something that I would eat on a regular basis since it doesn’t seem quite natural to eat almonds in such a concentrated amount. However it is nice to have pancakes on a weekend morning a few times a month with a fried egg, I think.

The recipe has been altered slightly to allow for my desire to not add concentrated and processed sugar to my diet, so I excluded agave necter. I also used butter to cook the cakes in my new iron skillet instead of the grapeseed oil the original recipe suggested. Here it is:

Gluten-free Banana Pancakes

2 eggs

1 Tbs water or almond milk

1 Tbs vanilla extract

1 mashed banana

2 Tbs melted butter or coconut oil

1 1/2 cup almond meal

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp sea salt

fat/oil for cooking

1) Mix all this stuff together in a bowl. I used an electric hand mixer to make sure all the lumps were out.

2) Pour approx. 1/4 cup of the batter on a heated skillet or pan or griddle, whatever you decide to use and cook like normal pancakes. These work best as a small little pancakes and I had my skillet pretty low to avoid burning them. I cooked them for a little longer than regular pancakes and adjust the heat as needed.

Tasted great with some butter! Naturally sweet and my dad loved them. I don’t think they would need any additional sweet topping, the banana made them sweet enough. My dad said he would love these instead of cake any time!

pancakesinskillet

I’m not a pro photographer, obviously. The little pancakes were cooking fast in the iron skillet!

pancakesonplate

My serving of pancakes. I added a little butter to the top. Very good!

Leave a Reply

You Ought to be Ashamed

You were unemployed once too, man.

Too Hottie For That Body

An attempt at keeping my thighs from eating my shorts

The Paleo Periodical

Going Feral since 2011.

PaleoFriggenDelish

Like a Cavewoman did, Just Friggen Delicious

Griffins and Ginger Snaps

To share what I know, what I learn, what's helpful and what's not, and everything in between

Slightly Ignorant

Ilana Masad Writes

