Paleo/Primal-friendly stew and gluten-free cornbread

30 Dec

Well hot damn, I found a delicious gluten-free cornbread and I cannot keep it a secret. It is LEGIT the best cornbread ever and it’s got no flour in it and only 1Tbs of honey in the entire batch, which I am sure you could leave out. I did not create this recipe, full-credit goes to the geniuses over at Plan to Eat for posting the recipe. You can find a link to the actual recipe here. I cooked mine in a cast iron skillet and it turned out really great!

glutenfreecornbread

Gluten-free cornbread cooked in a cast iron skillet. Seriously, so good.

Although the cornbread stole the show tonight, I also made a beef stew. Since I am a poor graduate student I like to buy the shitty cuts of meat because they aren’t so pricey. I used stewing meat with potatoes, sweet orange pepper, onions, carrots, celery, homemade chicken broth, and diced canned tomatoes. I cooked it for like 3 hours over a low flame and it was the bomb. Usually stew has flour in it, but I just browned the meat in some coconut oil and then browned the veggies in the meat fat. Oh, there is also some of my sister’s red wine in here that I used to deglaze the bottom of the pan. Turned out good and I am feeling full but not stuffed. On another note, I went to Target with my sister tonight to find some new clothes. Man, how depressing is that. It’s not just that I am overweight but it’s also where the fat is landing. So much fat around my waist causes clothes that would otherwise fit me in the legs to not fasten around my waist.

I couldn’t have picked a better time to change my diet and lifestyle: it’s now or never.

Leave a Reply

You Ought to be Ashamed

You were unemployed once too, man.

Too Hottie For That Body

An attempt at keeping my thighs from eating my shorts

The Paleo Periodical

Going Feral since 2011.

PaleoFriggenDelish

Like a Cavewoman did, Just Friggen Delicious

Griffins and Ginger Snaps

To share what I know, what I learn, what's helpful and what's not, and everything in between

Slightly Ignorant

Ilana Masad Writes

