One does not simply go to a Home Town Buffet and eat healthy

26 Dec
Gross.

Gross.

 

One does not simply go to a Home Town Buffet and eat healthy.

Knowing this, it shouldn’t come as any surprise that my evening meal at this place was filled with plate after plate of food fit only for the worst of prisoners. Child molesters and rapist should be eating at Home Town Buffet.

I started out well enough; I put 2 pieces of baked chicken and some green beans on my plate. It went down perfectly. And then my son brought a plate back of gooey macaroni and cheese, soft dinner rolls, and crispy battered shrimp.

“Oh, let me have one shrimp.” I figured it couldn’t hurt and he certainly didn’t need ALL the shrimps.

14 shrimp, 2 servings of mashed potatoes and gravy, 3 dinner rolls, and a serving of the worst shrimp linguini later, I was feeling like nothing less than a pile of carb-induced shit.

My inner monologue went something like this: “My god, that was terrible food. Everything was overcooked, too salty, too greasy, and poorly seasoned. Everything tastes old or freezer burnt. I feel awful, why did we come here? OOooh, I wonder what they have for dessert?”

I never cease to amaze myself when it comes to poor food choices.

It came as no surprise to me when the next morning I woke up feeling like a sumo wrestler. I was so bloated that I cringed when I looked at myself in the mirror. My eyes seemed to have sunken a bit further into my face and every forehead crease seemed exaggerated. I knew I couldn’t wear jeans that day and even my leggings felt cramped when I put them on.

In reality I knew I hadn’t gained weight from one night of bad choices. I hadn’t eaten enough calories to cause me to go up in a dress size, add an additional chin, or move from the “obese” to the “morbidly obese” category.  However, reality also told me that this bloated, slow, constipated feeling was not how I should be feeling after a meal.

I have been through this hundreds, if not thousands, of times. The morning after a bad meal always has me feeling remorseful and ready for change. Yet why haven’t I changed yet? Why haven’t I mustered that inner willpower to keep away from the foods I always regret? Is this time going to be different? Maybe? No? Yes?

I woke up that morning thinking that I was too young to feel so old and that I either start now to get where I need to be at some point, or never start and feel like shit all the damn time. I’m tired of feeling like shit. I am tired of looking like shit. Something has to be done, so, here I am.

I decided to start this blog as a way to hold myself accountable, see my own progress, and have a place to log my goals and victories. Will it help? Hopefully. Will I use it daily? Maybe. Probably not, but hopefully yes. Check back and see if I do. If I don’t, I give you permission to lambast me in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

You Ought to be Ashamed

You were unemployed once too, man.

Too Hottie For That Body

An attempt at keeping my thighs from eating my shorts

The Paleo Periodical

Going Feral since 2011.

PaleoFriggenDelish

Like a Cavewoman did, Just Friggen Delicious

Griffins and Ginger Snaps

To share what I know, what I learn, what's helpful and what's not, and everything in between

Slightly Ignorant

Ilana Masad Writes

